Leadership And Governance


SMS High School and OSC Educational Society ®

In the early 1950s, the schools at Brahmavar and Mabukala had supported the local students in their primary education. However for high school education the students had to cross rivers either to reach Kallianpur or Barkur. The situation worsened during the rainy season. Rev. Fr. Koshy realized the need of the students and decided to establish a high school in Brahmavar itself. Thus the parishioners and local leader under the leadership of Rev. Fr. P. G. Koshy established the Orthodox Syrian Catholic Educational Society (OSCES) in the year 1953. And through OSCES, SMS High School was established in the same year. During the initial period of establishment the local education officials did not approve the High school in Brahmavar. Rev. Fr. Koshy has travelled to Madras and he had to pledge the 25 acres of church land for depositing the amount for getting approval for high school from higher authorities. This itself was a major achievement of Rev. Fr. Koshy during that time. But unfortunately he did not live long enough to develop and lead the school. SMS High School was inaugurated on 19th June 1953 and Rev. Fr. Koshy passed away on 14th September the same year.

In the beginning classes of SMS High School were held at CHE school building, but later moved to its own independent building. The hardwork and the commitment of the teaching and non-teaching staff earned high reputation to the school within a short period of time. In the year 1972, SMS High School was upgraded to Pre-University College with Arts, Science and Commerce subjects being offered. P.U. College also received the aid through central and state government funds. Additionally, the local philanthropists also supported the college in its developmental activities. P.U. College never functioned as a minority institute and was represented by local people. This was the main reason for its quick progress. The high school and P.U. college boasts of state of the art sports ground and amphitheatre (Makkala Mantapa). It has already hosted district, state and university level sports competitions. Many of its students have secured ranks in the board exams. OSCE society: The main objective of the OSCE Society is to provide upliftment to the masses by starting educational institutions in and around Brahmavar. The benefits of the society is open to all, irrespective of caste, creed or religion. At present OSCES runs seven institutes right from KG (Kinder Garten) to PG (Post Graduation)Present Members.

About Us
  • The Orthodox Syrian Catholic Educational Society was established in 1953 by the then Vicar General Rev. Fr. P. G. Khoshy of St.Mary’s Syrian Cathedral, Brahmavar.
  • The main objective of the society is to spread education among the masses by starting educational Institution in and around Brahmavar.
  • The benefits of the society shall be open to all, irrespective of caste, creed or religion.
  • Rev. Fr.P.G. Khoshy was the first President of the society and thereafter Rev. Fr. K. K. Kuriakose, Rev. Fr. K. T. Varghese, Very. Rev. Ramban Dr. N. J. Thomas ,Very. Rev. Ramban G. M. Skaria, Rev. Fr. CA Isaac, Rev. Fr. Eldho M Paul served and Rev. Fr. David Lawrence Crasta as President of the society.
  • Rev. Fr. MC Mathai is the present President & Correspondent.
  • The General Assembly of the society elects Managing Committee once in two years.
  • The Vicar General of St. Mary’s Cathedral is the ex-officio President of the Society. The Secretaries to manage the different Institutions are elected by the General Assembly.
  • Rev. Fr. M. C. Mathai President & Correspondent
  • Rev. Fr. Lawrence D’Souza Vice President
  • Mr. Anil Rodrigues General Secretary
  • Mr. Cyril D’ Souza Secretary(S.M.S. College Section)
  • Mr. Alan Rohan Vaz Secretary(S.M.S. C.B.S.E Section)
  • Mr. Samson D’Souza Treasurer(S.M.S. College Section)
  • Mr. Franky P. Roche Treasurer(S.M.S. PU Section)
  • Mr. Alwyn M Lobo Treasurer(S.M.S. C.B.S.E section)
  • Mr. Alphones D’Souza Member
  • Mr. Saver D'Souza Member
  • Mr. Joy D’SaMember
  • Mr.Clement D'Silva Member
  • Mr. Wilfred D’Sa Member
  • Mr. Jerome Rodrigues Member
  • Mr. Felix D’Sa Member
  • Mrs. Laveena M Lewis Member
  • Mrs. Sophia Rodrigues Member
  • Mr. Prasanna Shetty Principal SMS CollegeEx. Officio Member
  • Mr.Ivan D Suvaris Principal SMS PU College Ex. Officio Member